Top 15 Most Popular Pakistani Politicians

Pakistan has a very rich political background. Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah, Allama Iqbal, Chaudhry Rehmat Ali Khan and Nawabzada Liaqat Ali Khan were great leaders of this nation. After independence too, several leaders were born in this nation who got worldwide fame.

I am giving here a list of today’s Top 15 Political Leaders of Pakistan. This list includes list of only those politicians who have countrywide recognition and followers. This list is prepared upon a general perception and should not be used for reference at any point.

Imran Khan (PTI)


Imran Ahmad Khan Niazi was born in Mianwali on 25 November, 1952. He is the President of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf. He is the best Pakistani Cricketer; Pakistan won Cricket World Cup under his captaincy in 1992. Imran Khan founded Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital Lahore and Namal University Mianwali. He married Jemima Khan in 1995 and announced divorce in 2004. They have two sons; Suleman Khan and Qasim Khan.

Pervez Musharraf (APML)


General (R) Pervez Musharraf is the Ex-President of Pakistan. He has also established his own political party named All Pakistan Muslim League. He was born on 11 August, 1943 in Delhi. He took part as Army Officer in 1965 and 1971 Indo-Pak Wars. He also fought 1998’s Kargil War. He was appointed as Chief of Army Staff on 7 October, 1998. Musharraf took over the government as Chief Executive on 12 October, 1999. He remained the ruler of Pakistan until 2008. He also wrote a book “In the Line of Fire”.

Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif (PML-N)


Mian Nawaz Sharif is the Founder Leader of Pakistan Muslim League –Nawaz. His date of birth is 25 December, 1949 (Lahore). Nawaz Sharif is the Ex Prime Minister of Islamic Republic of Pakistan. First time he became Prime Minister of Pakistan in November 1990 and then again he was elected as Prime Minister in February 1997. During his second tenure, Pakistan conducted successful Nuclear Blasts on May 28, 1998. Lahore Declaration was signed between him and Atal Behari Vajpayee in 1999. His Government was terminated by General Pervez Musharraf on 12 October 1999. Nawaz Sharif had also played first class cricket representing Pakistan Railways in 1973~47.

Asif Ali Zardari (PPPP)


Asif Ali Zardari is the President of Islamic Republic of Pakistan. He is also Co-Chairman of Pakistan Peoples Party – Parliamentarians while his son Bilawal Bhutto Zardari is the Chairman of Party. He is the husband of Benazir Bhutto, Ex – Prime Minister of Pakistan and Son-in-Law of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto. His date of birth is 21 July, 1956.

Altaf Hussain (MQM)


Altaf Hussain is the Founder Leader of Muttahida Qaumi Movement (previously Mohajir Qaumi Movement). He was born on 17 September, 1953 in Karachi. He moved to London in 1992 and later on got UK citizenship. His party is very strong in Karachi and Hyderabad. And now it is extending nationwide.

Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed (AML)


Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed is the Ex-Federal Information Minister during PML-Q tenure. He was born on 6 November, 1950 in Rawalpindi. He is the President of newly formed Awami Muslim League. He is among only few politicians who have been elected as MNA consecutively 6 times. He wrote 2 books; “Farzand-e-Pakistan” and “Sub Achha Hai”.

Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif (PML-N)


Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif is Chief Minister of Punjab and President of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz. This is his second tenure as CM of Punjab; firstly he became CM in 1997. He is younger brother of Nawaz Sharif (Former Prime Minister of Pakistan).

Chaudhry Shujat Hussain (PML-Q)


Chaudhry Shujat Hussain is the President of Pakistan Muslim League – Quaid-e-Azam. He was born on 27 January, 1946. He became the Prime Minister of Pakistan for a short tenure of three months in June 2004. He belongs to a political family of Gujrat.

Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani (PPPP)


Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani is the Prime Minister of Pakistan. He was born on 9 June, 1952 in Karachi however he belongs to a political and spiritual family of Multan. He was elected as Prime Minister on 24 March, 2008. He belongs to Pakistan Peoples Party – Parliamentarians.

Maulana Fazal-ur-Rehman (JUI-F)


Maulana Fazal-ur-Rehman is the President of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam – F. He was also Secretary General of MMA. He belongs to Dera Ismail Khan. He was born in 19 June, 1953.

Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan (PPPP)


Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan was born on 27 September, 1945. He belongs to Pakistan Peoples Party – Parliamentarians. He is Ex-President of Supreme Court Bar Association and Ex-Federal Interior Minister. He is a founder and Vice-President of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan. He is a Barrister-at-Law and a senior advocate at the Supreme Court of Pakistan. He successfully represented Chief Justice of Pakistan, Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry’s case in the Supreme Court of Pakistan. He is also the writer of “The Indus Saga and the Making of Pakistan” and co-author of “Divided by Democracy”.

Asfandyar Wali Khan (ANP)


Asfandyar Wali Khan is the President of Awami National Party. He was born on 19 February, 1949 in Charsadda. Changing the name of his province from NWFP to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is a big success of him.

Chaudhry Pervez Elahi (PML-Q)


Chaudhry Pervez Elahi is the former Chief Minister of Punjab (2002~2007). He was born on 1 November, 1945. He was PML-Q’s candidate for Prime Minister in 2008 elections. He is the cousin of Chaudhry Shujat Hussain and father of Moonis Elahi.

Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan (PML-N)


Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan is the Opposition Leader in National Assembly. He is the Ex-Senior Minister. He is a seasoned and courageous politician. He belonged to Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz.

Makhdoom Javed Hashmi


Makhdoom Javed Hashmi is the Senior Vice President of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz. He is a very committed and brave politician. During the exile of Nawaz Sharif, Javed Hashmi continued his struggle for the restoration of democracy from the platform of PML-N. He is the author of famous book “Main Baaghi Hoon”. He was born on 1 January, 1948 in Multan. He has left PML-N and has join PTI.

Leave a Comment